Posted by: Lisa Hill | July 30, 2012

2012 Kibble and Dobbie Award winners

The 2012 Kibble and Dobbie Award winners were announced on July 25th.

According to the Trust website:

The Awards recognise the works of women writers of fiction or non-fiction classified as ‘life writing’. This includes novels, autobiographies, biographies, literature and any writing with a strong personal element.

The Kibble Literary Award for Women Writers is worth $30,000 and recognises the work of established women writers.  The winner was

and the shortlisted titles were

The Dobbie Encouragement Award, worth $5000, is ‘for accomplished work of a first published female writer’.  The winner was

and the shortlisted titles were

Congratulations to all the authors, editors and publishers!

Availability: Click the title links.


  1. Having read both Five Bells by Gail Jones and Past the Shadows by Pavel Parrett; I think the judges made excellent choices. I was hoping Five Bells would win the Miles Franklin Award. I haven’t read End of the Night Girl or Bearings. I will try to read them.



    • I must admit that I would like to see Charlotte Wood win a major award. I think she’s a fine writer.


Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: