Posted by: Lisa Hill | November 30, 2012

2012 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

The 2012 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced tonight.

I am indebted to Tweets from Bookseller and Publisher for news about the winners.

Congratulations to all the authors and publishers!

2012 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards winners

Book of the Year

The winner of the Book of the Year Award is fiction winner Kim Scott, for my favourite books of 2011 –  That Deadman Dance (Pan Macmillan Australia), see my review

The Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)

Kim Scott, That Deadman Dance (Pan Macmillan Australia), see my review

The UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5000)

Rohan Wilson, The Roving Party (Allen & Unwin) see my review.

The Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction ($40,000)

Mark McKenna, An Eye for Eternity: The Life of Manning Clark (Melbourne University Publishing) (on my TBR)

The Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000)

Gig Ryan, New and Selected Poems (Giramondo Publishing)

The Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

Kate Constable, Crow Country (Allen & Unwin)

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ($30,000)

Penni Russon, Only Ever Always (Allen & Unwin)

The Play Award ($30,000)

Joanna Murray-Smith, The Gift (Melbourne Theatre Company; Currency Press)

The Scriptwriting Award ($30,000)

Peter Duncan, Rake (Episode 1): R v Murray (ABC TV)

The Community Relations Commission for a multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)

Tim Bonyhady, Good Living Street: The Fortunes of My Viennese Family (Allen & Unwin)

Good Living StreetRake DVDCrow CountryOnly Ever AlwaysNew and Selected PoemsAn Eye for EternityThe Roving PartyThat Deadman Dance

2012 NSW Premier’s History Awards winners

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

Russell McGregor, Indifferent Inclusion: Aboriginal People and the Australian Nation (Aboriginal Studies Press)

The General History Prize ($15,000)

Tim Bonyhady, Good Living Street: The Fortunes of My Viennese Family (Allen & Unwin)

The New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

Deborah Beck, Set in Stone: The Cell Block Theatre(UNSW Press)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

Stephanie Owen Reeder, Amazing Grace: An Adventure at Sea (National Library of Australia)

The Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

Catherine Freyne, Tit for Tat: The Story of Sandra Wilson (Hindsight/ABC Radio National)

People’s Choice Award

Gail Jones, Five Bells, see Kim’s review at Reading Matters, and Angela Meyer’s at Literary Minded

Good Living StreetIndifferent InclusionAmazing GraceSet in StoneFive Bells


  1. Just finished Deadman Dance, Lisa… one of those books I have to mull over, I think, before committing my thoughts to the blog.


    • if I didn’t have so many other books to read, I’d be reading it all over again just to celebrate his win. I’m looking forward to your review, not least because I know how many people read your blog and I believe this book deserves a wider audience than it’s had. It should have been nominated for the Booker IMO.


Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: