Posted by: Lisa Hill | April 28, 2016

2016 Vogel Award

The Memory ArtistThe Australian/Vogel Literary Award is Australia’s richest and most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of 35.  The winner receives $20,000 and – more importantly for a young writer’s career, the winner’s work is published by Allen and Unwin.  And because the award is sponsored by a newspaper, there’s a considerable splash of publicity to help book sales as well.

This year the winner is Katherine Brabon for her novel The Memory Artist, a book that sounds very interesting indeed.  You can read all about it at the Allen and Unwin blog, and also enter a giveaway for a copy of the novel.

I’ve read most of the winners of this award over the years, the most famous of which are Kate Grenville’s Lilian’s Story and Gillian Mears’ The Mint Lawn.  Previous recent winners of this award include

  • 2015 – Murray Middleton, When There’s Nowhere Else to Run, see my review
  • 2014 – Christine Piper, After Darkness, see my review
  • 2013 – No prize awarded
  • 2012 – Paul D. Carter, Eleven Seasons, on my TBR
  • 2011 – Rohan Wilson, The Roving Party, see my review
  • 2009 – Kristel Thornell, Night Street see my review, and Lisa Lang, Utopian Man, see my review
  • 2008 – Andrew Croome, Document Z, see my review

Another nice facet of this this award is that sometimes the runners-up can find their way to publication as well.



Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: