Posted by: Lisa Hill | October 18, 2016

2016 Zoe Morrison wins the Readings Prize

Music and FreedomZoë Morrison has been named the winner of this year’s Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction for her debut novel, Music and Freedom.   Read my review here.

From the Readings website:

The Readings Prize was launched in 2014, with the aim of supporting new and emerging Australian authors. It is unique in the Australian literary prize landscape as it is the only significant prize to be managed entirely by a bookshop, and it considers both first and second works of fiction by Australian authors – a point of difference that is important to Readings, as many authors often struggle to find traction with their second novel or collection of short stories.

From the press release:

Set over a period of 70 years, Music and Freedom is a profound and moving portrait of one woman’s life, ranging from rural Australia in the 1930s to England in the modern day.

The Prize judges were united in considering the novel a sophisticated and intelligent work of fiction.

‘A stimulating, thought-provoking and immensely satisfying book.’ – Mark Rubbo, managing director

‘A good story, beautifully written.’ – Maxine Beneba Clarke, author and Readings Prize guest judge

‘A wise novel with a wonderful sense of music and passion.’ – Chris Gordon, events manager

‘An impeccably written and incredibly relevant novel.’ – Tom Hoskins, manager at Readings State Library 

‘Highly recommend for fans of Anne Tyler, Stephanie Bishop & Elizabeth Strout.’ – Nina Kenwood, marketing manager

You can read more about the author and the prize at the Readings blog.

There were some fine books on the shortlist, you can read more about them and find links to my reviews here.


Responses

  1. Have heard consistently good things about this book. On another note, I enjoy the Readings selections – I think they manage to get a good balance of local authors who have had good commercial success and those that have been under the radar.

    Like


Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories

%d bloggers like this: