Posted by: Lisa Hill | September 4, 2020

2020 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award shortlist

UPDATE: 12/11/20 The winner was announced today, congratulations to Rebecca Gibbs for FATHOMS: the world in the whale (Scribe Publications)!

The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is unusual on two accounts: it focusses on excellence in Australian research and writing, and it’s the only major national literary award of its kind presented by a local council.

Waverley Council (in NSW) has announced the shortlist (links go to the publishers’ websites):

After the CountFathomsThe DeceptionsFriends and RivalsThe Hilton BombingThe Stranger Artist

Shortlisted authors are awarded the the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize ($1,000) and are finalists for the $20,000 Mark & Evette Moran Nib Literary Award.

The winner will be announced on November 12th, and you can vote in the people’s choice here. (You could win a prize!)


Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: