Posted by: Lisa Hill | October 22, 2022

2022 Victorian Premier’s History Award winner

The 2022 Victorian Premier’s History Award winners were announced yesterday.

From the press release:

A book recounting the lives of 200 convicts transported to Port Phillip in the 1800s has won the top prize at the 2022 Victorian Community History Awards, helping to shine a light on Australia’s complex colonial past.

Janet McCalman was awarded the Victorian Premier’s History Award for her book Vandemonians: The Repressed History of Colonial Victoria at a ceremony at the Arts Centre Melbourne today.

The judges praised the book for telling “poignant and personal stories with wit and irony” and for its demonstration of excellent research and writing to uncover the collective biographies of the prisoners.

The Premier’s History Award carries $5,000 prize money, with 11 category winners sharing a further $16,000 in recognition of their excellence.

You can see my review of Vandemonians here.

The Women of Little Lon, by Barbara Minchinton won the History Publication Award ($2,000), see Janine’s review at The Resident Judge of Port Phillip. You can also hear the author talk about the book here. 

For more information about winners in the other categories, see the website.

Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: