Posted by: Lisa Hill | September 15, 2015

2015 Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes shortlist

For a small island with a population of less than half a million people, Tasmania occupies a very prominent place in our literary culture.  So the announcement of the shortlist for the biennial Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes is always of great interest.  (Thanks to @RNBooksAndArts for the heads up about the announcement).  Winners will be announced on Wednesday, 2 December 2015.

(BTW it’s interesting to see Rohan Wilson’s brilliant book, To Name Those Lost in two categories.  I hope he wins one of them!)

Margaret Scott Prize – $5 000 (Many of us remember Margaret Scott as a wise and witty woman whose presence livened up any current affairs panel.)

This award is for the best book by a Tasmanian writer and is supported by the University of Tasmania.

  • What Days Are For by Robert Dessaix (Random House Australia)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (Random House Australia) (See my review and a Sensational Snippet)
  • A Short History of Richard Kline by Amanda Lohrey (Black Inc.) (See my review)
  • To Name Those Lost by Rohan Wilson (Allen & Unwin) (See my review)

Tasmania Book Prize – $25 000

This award is for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre and recognises the influence Tasmania has had on content or perspective. It is supported by the Tasmanian Government.

  • The Rise and Fall of Gunns Ltd by Quentin Beresford (New South Publishing)
  • Forgotten War by Henry Reynolds (New South Publishing) (On my TBR)
  • To Name Those Lost by Rohan Wilson (Allen & Unwin)  (See my review)

University of Tasmania Prize – $5 000

This award is for the best new unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer and is supported by the University of Tasmania.

  • Blue Pollen Beautiful by Elizabeth Goodsir
  • Soon by Lois Murphy
  • The Party by Adam Ouston
  • High Places by Ben Walter

Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship – $5 000

This award celebrates the strength and breadth of young Tasmanian writing  and is supported by private philanthropists.

  • Robbie Arnott
  • Michael Blake
  • Alena Hrasky

You can vote in the People’s Choice Awards for a chance to win all the shortlisted books and score an invitation to the gala announcement of the prize winners at Government House.  (Entry only, you have to make your own way there.) But the best thing about visiting the People’s Choice page is that you can read extracts of the shortlisted titles.


  1. Great see prizes like this Iisa smaller prizes


  2. I would like to see To Name Those Lost win. I don’t think it has received enough attention. It is a great read, despite it being a brutal read.


    • Yes, it could have been a contender for the Most Underrated Book Award, I thought it was a very fine book and you’re right, it hasn’t had the attention it deserves.


Please share your thoughts and join the conversation!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: